Catholic Theological Union Learn@CTUCatholics on CallCatholic Common Ground Initiative
Follow CTU on Facebook
CTU Twitter feed
CTU on Google+

News and Features

January 12, 2016

The General Council of the Society of the Divine Word (SVD) appointed Father Roger Schroeder SVD, Louis J. Luzbetak SVD Professor of Mission and Culture at Catholic Theological Union in Chicago, for a fourth term as the international coordinator of Anthropos Institute (AI).

August 12, 2015

On August 2, 2015, CTU's Vice President and Academic Dean, Barbara Reid, OP, delivered her final presidential address at the 78th Annual Meeting of the Catholic Biblical Association of America. The title of her address was: The Gospel of Luke: Friend or Foe to Women Proclaimers of the Word?

February 15, 2015
On February 13, 2015, family, friends, and colleagues gathered at St. Thomas the Apostle Church to mourn the loss and celebrate the life of Valerie Holloway. Funeral Homily for Valerie - 13.ii.15 Edward Foley, Capuchin
November 24, 2014

Fr. John Ssenyondo, MCCJ, MA/MDiv 1991, was born on Christmas Day in 1958 in Masaka district, Uganda. A Comboni Missionary, he was ordained to the priesthood on August 3, 1991. An alumnus of CTU, he earned both a Master of Divinity and a Master of Arts degree in 1991. In 2008 he went to minister in parishes in the Diocese of Chilpancingo-Chilapa, where he also served Catholics from indigenous communities. At the end of April he was kidnapped by armed men as he returned home from celebrating a wedding.

October 8, 2014

Br. Ton Sison, CPPS, Assistant Professor of Systematic Theology, is now a regular columnist for the National Catholic Reporter (NCR). He will be contributing quarterly reviews of noteworthy releases from global cinema. His first piece will be published on the 21st of November in both the paper and online editions. Author of the book World Cinema, Theology, and the Human (Routledge, 2012), Ton is a theologian who pays attention to what the world is watching. He hopes to enrich readers' film rental queues.

September 26, 2014

Cardinal Kurt Koch, President of the Pontifical Council for Promoting Christian Unity at the Vatican, has appointed the Rev. Stephen Bevans, SVD, to a four-year term to the Commission on World Mission and Evangelization at the World Council of Churches (WCC). He is one of only four Catholics appointed to the Commission, which meets every 18 months. Fr. Bevans is the Louis J. Luzbetak, SVD, Professor of Mission and Culture at CTU.

July 29, 2014

Barbara E. Reid, OP, Vice President and Academic Dean of Catholic Theological Union (CTU), has been named the President of the Catholic Biblical Association of America (CBA). The CBA was founded in 1936 and has over 1500 members, including Catholics, Protestants, and Jews from countries all over the world. Since 1939 it has published the premier scholarly journal, Catholic Biblical Quarterly.

May 19, 2014

In May 2014, Pauline Books & Media released a DVD featuring CTU alum Dr. Mary Amore, Executive Director of Mayslake Ministries, titled Eucharist: A Journey of Transformation, Healing, and Discipleship. In this three-part series, Dr. Amore invites the viewer to encounter Jesus in the Eucharist in three ways: by being interiorly transformed, spiritually healed, and renewed in discipleship. The video is ideal for faith formation groups, parish missions, and individual retreats.

May 14, 2014

On May 20, 2014, Australian Catholic University (ACU) will award an honorary doctorate to John Pawlikowski, OSM, in recognition of his outstanding commitment to Christian-Jewish relations. This award is the University's highest honor.  

In addition, Professor Pawlikowski will be a featured speaker at ACU's International Theological Conference held May 26-29, 2014.  He will dialogue with Rabbi John Levi, Rabbi Emeritus of Temple Beth Israel in Melbourne, on contemporary religious and social issues in the context of interfaith relations.

May 5, 2014
CTU President Emeritus Donald Senior, CP, was awarded the Order of Lincoln by The Lincoln Academy of Illinois in recognition of his professional accomplishments as a theologian and scholar and his years of public service, on May 3, 2014, in Chicago. Fellow 2014 Laureates are: John A. Canning, Jr.; The Honorable Hillary Rodham Clinton; Michael Krzyzewski; Newton N. Minow; Bernard Rands and Augusta Read Thomas; and Glenn F. Tilton.