Catholic Theological Union Learn@CTUCatholics on CallCatholic Common Ground InitiativePeacebuilders Initiative
Follow CTU on Facebook
CTU Twitter feed
CTU on Google+

Catholic Theological Union's annual Blessed are the Peacemakers Trustee Dinner will honor Dr. Paul Farmer on April 29, 2015. Dr. Farmer is a renowned physician, anthropologist, and co-founder of Partners In Health. The Trustee Dinner is a celebration to support the education and formation of men and women preparing for a ministerial life of service. Each year, an institution or individual(s) whose accomplishments and commitments reflect the values of the mission of Catholic Theological Union, particularly in the areas of reconciliation, justice, and peacemaking, is honored.

Blessed are the Peacemakers
Trustee Dinner

"The peacemakers, those who put an end to violence, who lay down the sword, who work for harmonious relationships, who break the patterns of hatred, who love even their enemies, will be called 'children of God,' the ultimate blessing.  These 'children of God,' be they Jews, Christians, and Muslims in the Middle East, or we gathered here, are mandated by our great religious traditions to be peacemakers."  

~ Joseph Cardinal Bernardin, A Blessing to Each Other

Rev. Mark R. Francis, CSV

and the Board of Trustees of Catholic Theological Union

invite you to

Blessed are the Peacemakers

a dinner honoring

Dr. Paul Farmer
Physician, anthropologist, and co-founder of Partners In Health
Recipient of the Blessed are the Peacemakers Award

Sheila and Bob Berner and Family
Recipients of the Diakonia Award

Wednesday, April 29, 2015

Hilton Chicago, Grand Ballroom, 720 South Michigan Avenue, Chicago

Reception 5:30 p.m. – Dinner 6:30 p.m.

Business attire

For more information, please visit



Past Honorees

2014 Rev. Donald Senior, CP
         President Emeritus of Catholic Theological Union
2013 Mary McAleese, Eighth President of Ireland
2012 Renée & Lester Crown and Shirley & Patrick Ryan
2011 Monsignor Kenneth Velo
2010 Miguel H. Díaz
         United States Ambassador to the Holy See
2009 The Jo and Newton Minow Family
2008 The Kroc Institute for International Peace
         Studies at the University of Notre Dame
2007 John C. Danforth
         Former Senator and United States
         Ambassador to the United Nations
2006 Jean Vanier
         Founder, L’Arche Communities
2005 Daniel Lubetzky
         Mohammad Darawshe
         Founders, OneVoice Movement
2004 The Council of Religious Leaders
         of Metropolitan Chicago
2003 Steven Spielberg
         Founder, Survivors of the Shoah Visual
         History Foundation
2002 Cardinal Walter Kasper
         President of the Pontifical Council for
         Promoting Christian Unity

2001 Her Majesty Queen Noor of Jordan
2000 John Hume
         Nobel Laureate
1999 Leah Rabin †
1998 Reverend Theodore M. Hesburgh, C.S.C.
         President Emeritus, University of Notre Dame
1997 Bishop Raymond E. Goedert, D.D.
         Vicar General, Archdiocese of Chicago
1996 Eunice Kennedy Shriver †
         Founder, The Special Olympics
         R. Sargent Shriver, Jr. †
         Founding Director, The Peace Corps
1995 Monsignor Michael Sabbah
         Latin Patriarch of Jerusalem
1994 Kenneth Woodward
         Senior Religious Editor, Newsweek Magazine
1993 Sister Rosemary Connelly, R.S.M.
         Executive Director, Misericordia
1992 Margaret Roach
         Catholic Social Action Leader
1991 Michael Glazier